Mod 1 thoughts

I have completed the Mod 1 reading (minus the TED talks) and thought it best to summarise what I think to date.

The social media revolution video made the point that social media has resulted in a communication shift. Looking at the way in which humans have communicated throughout history, I see social media as one of those key markers which signify a significant change in communication, much like the printing press and the telephone. For me, the primary impact from this is that I converse with people all over the world regardless of time or location. Compare this to 15 or so years ago when I remember getting up at 4am so I could make a phone call to the USA to talk someone. Another key point I took from the video was that consumer trust was strongly influenced by peer recommendation. For me the impact of this is that if I am planning a social media campaign, I need to have an awareness of which social networks have the highest rates of use in my target audiences. This may require some market research to identify usage in those people I intend to target.

The need to really understand target audience usage was reinforced by the technium blogs. The two points that stood out for me was that there is not always a logic to the way technology may be used or not used. The other point was that we are not so much defined by what technology we use but rather what we don’t use. I cannot clearly articulate as to why I found these points important at this stage. I suppose this is the whole purpose of a reflective journal.

I really enjoyed the podcast with Charlene Li. I found this particularly relevant to the upcoming assessment. A key point reinforced for me was how management may feel uncomfortable giving up control when it comes to social media. The reality, as Li points out, is that mistakes will happen and people will do things that we don’t expect. We need to plan ahead so we know how we will deal with situations like this. For me this means that as part of my implementation package I will need a set of operating procedures which provides clear guidance on how our organisation will deal with those types of issues that arise. Simply removing an offending post without further dialogue may cause more problems. This is the engagement with users which is critical to the success of social networking as a tool in creating relationships. Otherwise users may see them as just another advertising tool.

Another point I have heard before which she reinforced was that you need an anchor like a web page or a blog to bring people back to when you have made a connection through social networking or media. This does not mean that social networking tools are any less important, but they need to be looked at in context of the overall communication strategy.

Gary Hayes’ slideshare makes the pertinent point that we need to live this stuff or remain outside. For any organisation wanting to connect with people this means that they need to get involved and understand social media or risk being left behind. He also raises the matter of being trusted as a source. This seems to be a fairly common theme. Gary suggests getting in early as part of a community to create that trust. I liked Gary’s line that the winners are those that enable conversation.

~ by dassocmed on July 21, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
