Creative Commons

I have read the module on creative commons and was reflecting on this. My sense is that there tend to be 2 camps when it comes to the sharing of information in the business world. There are those who hold onto information for power, money or both. On the other hand there are those who share information freely. The example that springs to mind is the Linux software I use. This is a free operating system (with all the capability that Microsoft or Apple provide) that is developed and maintained by the community who use it. One of the things I enjoy about this software is the sense of community that the users and developers share. People freely distribute progammes they make and answers to problems that other users experience. I think this open sharing is one of the defining elements of this community. I experience the same sense of community in other networks I am involved in where people are sharing information for the benefit of others. I have also experienced this in our workplace social networking environment where ex-serving members share stories and pictures and maintain that sense of belonging. For me one of the key points that I want to include in my project is that we will need to share information and content for people to become interested in the first place. From this I am sure the community will grow.

~ by dassocmed on July 28, 2012.

2 Responses to “Creative Commons”

  1. I don’t think I agree about the two camps Dale, although I would agree that there are likely to be people at two extreme ends philosophically while many vary between. I think that many people who give some information freely probably have other information or capacity from which they are able to function financially – and that people who endeavour to profit from some of the information they hold also give some away (even if only to garner interest in that which is for sale).

    I wonder Dale, if an object of your project is to grow the community, then the library sharing information and content may not be enough – if you want patrons to give their time, in comments or content of their own, then there might need to be ‘something in it for them’. What will they get out of it – that they want? For the (current & ex) servicemen & women in your workplace online communities you have already mentioned there is “that sense of belonging”. Would it be worth pulling up some of the military-community-psych material (about shared identity & how military experience influences civilian experience, or how military culture changes (as just three examples)) to both justify & help develop your proposals?

    Readings I have up in my tabs at the moment talked about focussing social network attention on the people who are already interested. First I found Jessica Olin’s “To Facebook or not to Facebook…” who explained that her Facebook effort resulted from the influence of Steven Bell’s “If you can’t reach everyone aim for the passionate users” and Brian Mathews’ Why does my library use social media?” (to build brand loyalty).

    Telling you about those made a connection for me to anecdotes from business marketing in … Li & Bernoff’s Marketing in the groundswell.

    I wonder if you’ve read anything along that line yet?

    But to bring this back to Creative Commons and intellectual property – if there is a two way giving of information in public spaces – what rights/licences need to be made clear?

    • Mica,
      My comment was rather black and white. I got focussed on my experiences with software rather than the bigger picture. The readings you included were very helpful. Other material I am reading also supports the fact that there will be a small core group of users who will interact in the social networking environment. Supporting them makes sense given that word of mouth is so important is getting others to the network.
      You pose an interesting question regarding creative commons that will require some more thought. As an aside, you pose lots of interesting questions – your posts and comments always have me thinking.

Leave a Reply

 
