Mod 4 – why we post

Here are my first thoughts on this article after a fairly quick read through.

I really like the idea of running an internal blog as a way of passing on information amongst staff. I had not really given serious thought to using a blog in this way before however reading about how Furness used her internal blog made it clear to me there are a lot of benefits to be had. I could see it being used a bit like I am using this blog as an OLJ. That is to record relevant information and sources as well as to put up ideas or thought and allow others to add and comment.

I got to the section regarding whether or not to allow comments on blogs. It seems to me that if you are striving for engagement with your audience or community then to not allow comments sends out a contradictory message. Given that software now allows you to vet each comment then why would you not allow people the opportunity to comment. The reality is that you cannot control what people will say. If you deny them the opportunity in one medium, if they really want to say it they will take their comments to another medium and say it there. I think it is better to let them have their say where at least you have the opportunity to provide a response, rather than miss what they are saying all together.

When discussing how they blog, I liked the tip by Mary Anne Hodel to plan topics for blogging in advance. I think this is an important tip for any social networking of media. Make sure you have a few months worth of content planned so you do not have big gaps where you are not posting. I have been there and it has an impact on how people interact with your site.

This was a good article which opened up my eyes as to how libraries can interact with the public.

UPDATE – I came back and re-read this post and the article this post is based on. There was a comment that caught my attention this time that I had passed over before.The comment was that a blog is not a one-sized fits all communication tool. The comment makes sense to me but it got me wondering how else might a library communicate using social networking and media. I came across an interesting paper by Associate Professor Samuel Chu and Dora Cheng from the University of Hong Kong. In this paper they looked at how libraries use social networking tools. There are a couple of tables they have included which shows the different ways tools are used. Seeing this in table format reinforced to me that consideration needs to be given to how tools are used when trying to communicate. For instance Twitter is good for sending out information but does not perform as well when trying to facilitate two way communication. So if a library is trying to foster a participatory environment then they will need to look at a tool like FaceBook which facilitates interaction. The same consideration will need to be applied to new tools as they are released. Rather than jump on the bandwagon for the sake of having the latest tools, thought needs to be given as to what the tool does and how it might fit into the current or future social networking plan for the library.

Resources: http://www.libraryjournal.com/article/CA6497263.html

https://circle.ubc.ca/bitstream/id/159259/Chu_S_Social_Networking_Tools_2012.pdf

~ by dassocmed on August 16, 2012.

One Response to “Mod 4 – why we post”

  1. […] the topic of participation, I discuss this further in my post of August 16 entitled ‘Mod 4 – why we post’. In this post I discuss the merits of allowing or not allowing comments to be posted on a blog and […]

Leave a Reply

 
