Mod 4 remaining posts

I am slipping behind in keeping up my posts. All those balls I am juggling are starting to fall! So here are my collected thoughts that I have gathered along the way for Mod 4. I will update them with comments once my assignment is done.

Developing a social networking marketing strategy

Kagan’s slide show http://www.slideshare.net/mzkagan/what-is-social-media-now-4747765 reinforces the point that social media can not be avoided and that you need to get involved now. I think I will use this as one of my references for Assignment 2. The 2 things I think make it a good reference are the statistics highlighting the number of users and the stories which show how successfully social networking and media have been used in business.

Social media guides –https://www.facebook.com/notes/webdoctus/27-of-the-most-comprehensively-compiled-social-media-guides/255407848735

I had a look at the UK civil service guide – http://coi.gov.uk/documents/Engaging_through_social_media.pdf

There is nothing in here that I have not seen before and we have Australian versions which do just as good a job.

I  looked at http://johnhaydon.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/11/twitter-jump-start-free-download-version-4.pdf

This is a pretty good guide. He makes one suggestion which I think is one of the best so far. That is give Twitter a go for a while then evaluate its usefulness. This is truly the only way that you will be able to see if it works for you. I also like the suggestion of using it as a micro blog for the CEO if they don’t have the time to maintain a fully blown blog. This document is tailored for not-for-profits which is a nice change. Most of the guides I have seen are for business. This does not mean that we cannot learn from these guides but it is nice to see something tailored towards our unique position.

I had a quick look at connecting with your customers, a guide to social media. This had some good information about finding out where you are being talked about and starting off in that space. There are also some good tips in here for the project plan.

I read the analytics ref http://blogs.sas.com/content/datamanagement/2011/11/28/top-10-it-considerations-for-analytics-in-2012/

I wonder how many small organisations who are struggling with setting up and maintaining a social communications network will have the time or the inclination to look at analytics. I do a little bit of this as I report back on our Facebook interactions and our website hits. What I have found it useful for is to see what type of content gains the greatest engagement. I can put content up and then have a look at how much interaction occurs around that. By varying the content I can then see what is popular and what is not and then target the type of content I put up. Recently I was able to use Google analytics to see how effective our use of QR codes was at a recent event. By being able to look at our website usage by location I could roughly estimate how many people from the local area went to our website after seeing our display.

Read the ref on social media policy: http://www.examiner.com/article/developing-an-effective-social-media-marketing-strategy. I would say that this should be one of the key things that is planned prior to even setting up accounts. Once you have accounts set up you are too busy to go back and worry about the policy and you are already interacting so you need to have the guidepost firmly set in place prior to embarking on the journey. This could take as little as a day or two to put together as there is a whole lot of information out there that you can use for a template for much of the documentation. I think the policy is particularly important if you have multiple people involved in your social communication activities.

 

~ by dassocmed on August 28, 2012.

One Response to “Mod 4 remaining posts”

  1. I have been trying to undertake some reflection on my posts and will use this comment as the tool to record my reflection.
    In this post I recorded my thoughts of the Marta Kagan slideshare presentation. I mentioned that I would use it as a reference for the last assignment so I took another look at it to see if it still had the same impact. I still think it is a good presentation as Kagan reinforces the points she wants to make with quite a few eye catching statistics and examples of the benefits. One slide that caught my attention this time was number 95 which is a rule that says engage. I have found through this course that I have increased my level of engagement in social networking and that in doing so people are increasing their engagement with me. You really need to post content and get involved in discussions in order to come up on people’s radars. I try and maintain engagement across a number of tools that I use which takes a bit of time. I have seen reference to the fact that the only cost to getting involved in social networking is the time but I wonder if people have an idea of how much time needs to be invested if you are going to put a decent amount of content onto blogs, Facebook, Twitter etc.
    I am finding that I am becoming a bit more selective on what I post where. The reason for this is that each tool I use is geared towards a different purpose. For instance, I post a few pictures on Pinterest. Pinterest has boards where I pin content of a specific nature. This makes it easy for people to search for content on a specific topic. People who like my pictures can then pin it onto their boards and share the images around. I have increased my use of Twitter during this course. I mainly retweet others interesting tweets or links to blogs. Just recently I loaded Flipboard onto my smartphone and have been playing around with that. I have tended to tweet a few of the tech articles that I think might be relevant to the people I follow. I have found that in doing so I have picked up a few more followers. I think this has occurred because I am adding new content rather than retweeting content that is already being tweeted by the group. What this appears to highlight is that with Twitter it is about finding a niche area and providing content related to that. This will set you up as someone with credibility that others can look to for information. I see this with the people I follow who add their particular take on subjects which makes them the experts. It is about building trust as a reputable source. This is interesting because I am not sure how many people stop to check many of the stats that are included in these blogs that are deemed to be authoritative.
    While being able to play with a number of tools is okay in my personal life, I don’t have the time to be spread as widely in the workplace. I need to be far more selective in what I use and make sure that is getting to as many of the target audience as possible. There does need to be some way to stay abreast of the changes that occur in the social networking and media landscape so that we are not left behind trying to play catch up. At this stage my personal use is a bit of a laboratory for the workplace in that I keep myself informed of what is happening by being involved. There needs to be something in our social communications plan with respect to how we are going to monitor change in the area of social communications and what criteria will determine if we implement a new tool or not. One idea is to draw on the experience of those who are actively using tools as a knowledge pool to draw on their experiences. By using existing networks I could call for people to post about their experiences with other tools. This is drawing on one of the strengths of Web 2.0 which is harnessing the collective intelligence of users.

Leave a Reply

 
