Web 3.0

After having covered web 2.0 we finish off on looking at Web 3.0 This is somewhat of a misnomer as there is not a major version change to warrant the moniker of Web 3.0 What we are seeing continual incremental developments in the way we use the web and what the web can provide us. In the YouTube video ‘What is Web 2.0 and what about Web 3.0’ (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WIm5txBm1YA&feature=related)  they talk about software now being beyond release cycles and in continual beta. I think this is a better way to look at changes in the internet rather than use terms like Web 3.0.

This aside there are some differences which seem to be differentiators between the two. Web 3.0 has been called the executable phase. Web 2.0 allowed users to write, to the web whereas Web 3.0 allows much more to happen in the cloud environment. I have seen Web 3.0 referred to the internet of services and the internet of things. The internet of things I understand. This is where items are connected to each other and to businesses. This occurs without the need of human intervention to make the connection. I need to deepen my understanding of the internet of services as I still don’t have a full grasp of this.

For this to occur a key change needs to happen to the way data is managed on the internet. At present there are massive amounts of data on the net but little connection occurs between the data. In Web 3.0 the term semantics is used to describe being able to make sense of the data. I tried to get a better understanding of this but it has taken watching a few videos to start to get a sense of how this actually works. In my limited understanding how this works is rather than me doing a search on a particular topic and getting lots of pages of data that I then need to make some sense of, as is the case now, in the semantic web, some sense will be made from the data collected through the use of relationships to provide me with an answer that makes sense in relation to the question I asked. This can lead to a more personalised internet by the making of relationships from all the data that exists about me and what I like.

Another point I came across was that the internet will become a natural part of our day to day lives and that we will be connected in some form 24/7. It appears that one of the key assumptions underpinning Web 3.0 is that everyone will access to the internet all the time. I live in regional Victoria and my connection speeds and ability to connect is very different to the experiences of my friends in metro Melbourne. So if this is the case in modern day Australia where does this leave me in relation to Web 3.0. This is to say nothing of the social variables that can be introduced. What happens to those who cannot afford the technology, do not have the education to use the technology or just choose to opt out of using technology? Where are they left in this next iteration of the Web?

So if you feel that you are struggling to keep up with Web 2.0 where does that leave you in preparation for Web 3.0? I suppose the question to be asked is what we need to do now to prepare to be at the forefront of this technology when it arrives. What does this mean for how we deliver information to our clients?

~ by dassocmed on September 7, 2012.

2 Responses to “Web 3.0”

  1. Would the ‘internet of services’ relate to the way businesses set up web services which make use of other webservices? Like when they use Amazon cloud servers?

  2. Where does the digital divide leave me? Same place I’ve always been: watching, laughing, picking up a tech just before it goes out of date? I was able to use microfiche and microfilm before the machines disappeared under the dust; once upon a time I took a photo with a polaroid; I had a few years’ use of a digital camera before I picked up my Xoom – the camera might take better photos but it is too big to carry all the time. I still use my laptop occasionally when I can get it back from my son… 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
