You can’t be all things to all people

I came across this picture today on Tumblr ( http://icanread.tumblr.com/)

 

It got me thinking that with so many social media and networking tools around it must be very difficult to have a effective presence on all of them. It makes more sense to choose those tools where the greatest mass of your users will be and then do very well on those sites, providing your users what they want.  I like playing with the new tools as they come out and have found myself at time telling people that we should looking at establishing a presence on some new site (something I even did with G+ for this subject). Glad to say that I think taking this subject has tempered my tendency to leap first and look later.

~ by dassocmed on September 8, 2012.

One Response to “You can’t be all things to all people”

  1. At the same time, MMORPGs and Second Life teach us that we can create multiple characters/avatars. So our first leaps might run under nom-de-pixels until we learn enough to determine whether it is a worthy tool for official purposes? Not that I’ve done so… all of my first leaps I have labelled moonflowerdragon – which has been my ID for everything.

    An argument against my own idea is that the very social nature of such tools means that one can be developing a network in the nom-de-pixel and it might be difficult to re-establish under a new name later.

Leave a Reply

 
