Workplace learning

It has been a while since I have posted anything here. I guess I have been enjoying not having to study and record what I am thinking. That is not to say that I did not enjoy journalling nor find it beneficial. In fact it was quite the opposite. Which is why I find myself back here this evening recording my thoughts.

I am currently in the process of preparing to handover my job to someone new when it moves location at the end of the year. I will not be following and therefore am looking for a new job myself. I have been in this job three years and learnt quite a lot over that period. I need somewhere to flesh out what I have learnt that I can take with me to a new job and also to record those random thoughts that I have had about workplace learning.

It is an interesting position in having to prepare a handover for your job. Having spent a while in the Army I am not unfamiliar with the practice as I was always moving onto a new job and having to leave handover notes. This time though I am looking at if from a different perspective. I tend to look at most activities through a learning lens nowadays so a handover is more than just processes and points of contact. Yet my handover notes at the moment contain mostly that – processes and reference documents. There is so much more to pass on but I need to get my head around exactly what that is and the best way to impart it.

From my side, so many things have happened in this job where I have said ‘if I ever start a new job again I will do that differently’. Well here I am looking at starting a new job. I really don’t want to lose those lessons so I plan to jot down lessons learnt and record those things that I want to take with me into a new job, whatever that may be.

~ by dassocmed on September 4, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
